Pinarayi 2.0 Cabinet To Have 21 Ministers

By SM .17 May, 2021




THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The LDF state committee that met here on Monday decided to form a 21-member cabinet under the leadership of Pinarayi Vijayan. The new ministry will be sworn in on Thursday. The LDF decided to allocate cabinet berths to four single-MLA parties on a "sharing the term" basis.


Talks on cabinet formation are in its final stage and talks on who would become ministers are progressing at the AKG centre. There were 13 ministers from the CPM last time, including the chief minister. But this time, as there are more partners and more MLAs, one minister post from the CPM will be given to the allied partners. According to the latest reports, only Pinarayi Vijayan and KK Shailaja will be old faces in the cabinet from the CPM.


If the party decides to allot the speaker"s post to a woman, then either KK Shailaja or Veena George would be considered. If Shailaja is considered as minister then Veena George may opt for Speaker’s post.


Muhammed Riyas, AN Shamseer may be considered as representatives from the Muslim community.


Veena George may be considered for Speaker’s post if she does not figure in the list of ministers. Central committee members MV Govindan, K Radhakrishnan, and secretariat members K N Balagopal, P Rajeev are sure to get into the cabinet.


V Sivankutty, Saji Cherian, PP Chitaranjan, VN Vasavan, MB Rajesh, P Nandakumar, CH Kunhumbu will become ministers. If KT Jaleel is not given minister’s post then V Abdurahman may come in.


The LDF is sharing cabinet berths on a rotational basis for the first time. CPM leaders said the precedent was set to accommodate as many possible allies in the cabinet since 11 parties now constitute the Front.


Two cabinet berths will be shared by four allies on a rotation basis, with each of them getting 2.5 years.


Antony Raju of the Democratic Kerala Congress and Ahammad Devarkovil of the Indian National League will be inducted into the cabinet for the first 30 months. KB Ganesh Kumar of Kerala Congress (B) and Ramachandran Kadannappally of Congress (S) will replace them for the next 30 months.


Kerala Congress (M) has decided to nominate Idukki MLA Roshy Augustine as minister. The party will get the chief whip post in cabinet rank also. N Jayaraj who won from Kanjirapally will be the chief whip.


This time too, CPI will be offered 4 minister posts and the deputy speaker post.


It has been decided to give one minister slot for JDS and NCP.


“As the verdict made it clear that the LDF had the overwhelming support of all sections, we decided to provide representation to all. The constitutional clauses restrict the cabinet to 21 members and hence the smaller parties were asked to share the term,” LDF convener A Vijayaraghavan said. He also said the oath-taking ceremony will be organized in a low-key manner with only a minimum of invitees. The swearing-in will be held at Central Stadium on Thursday afternoon.